Current harmonics mitigation in a packing house with numerous Variable Frequency Drives

Challenges in the customer’s packing house

A large automatic packing house was suffering from overheating of the electric boards, failures of electronic devices, PFC systems, and unnecessary downtime of production. Power Quality measurements were conducted by Merus Power’s local partner, POS’s service team. A two-week measurement was performed in two locations simultaneously, at the main packing house and the stacker machine room.

Several problems were detected by the analyzer: High harmonic current distortion and a low power factor at the main board and in the stacker machine room.

Our Merus® Solution

The chosen solution was a 100A Merus® A2 – Active Harmonic Filter that was integrated into the electrical system. In the pictures below, the measured harmonic currents are presented with and without the Merus® A2. As can be seen, the harmonic currents are minimized effectively. The distortion of currents is also minimized and can be seen in the lower pictures.

WITHOUT Merus® A2

WITH Merus® A2

Segment / Application

Packing house with Variable Frequency Drives (VFD)

Location

Middle East

Power quality issue

  • High harmonic current distortion
  • Low power factor

Merus® Solution

Customer Benefits

  • Increased profitability
  • Less downtime
  • Continuous efficiency
  • Improved overall power quality
  • Mitigated harmonic distortion
  • Improved power factor

Results and customer benefits

By installing the Merus® A2, the high harmonic distortion was resolved, power factor was increased remarkably, about 45% while losses and unnecessary heating were reduced. Overall power quality at the packing house was improved and there is less downtime in production. Continuous efficient work is going on and increases results and profitability.


Do you have any questions?

Please contact one of our salespeople with questions and inquiries.

Markus Ovaskainen

Director,
Sales

+358 40 539 2145 markus.ovaskainen@meruspower.com

Riku Kalliomaa

Head of Sales,
Regions & Channels

+358 50 3323 020 riku.kalliomaa@meruspower.com

Jaakko Poutamo

Sales Manager,
Central & Southern Europe

+358 50 918 0012 jaakko.poutamo@meruspower.com

Mikko Zavertkin

Sales Manager,
Key Accounts & OEMs

+358 40 5908 858 mikko.zavertkin@meruspower.com

Viktoria Mansikkala

Sales Manager,
Baltics & Eastern and Southern Europe

+358 44 9 735 737 viktoria.mansikkala@meruspower.com

Juhani Jaatinen

Senior Sales Manager,
DACH, Benelux, France

+49 160 762 4909 (DE) juhani.jaatinen@meruspower.com

Pedro Esteban

Director,
Asia-Pacific

+65 9155 4225 pedro.esteban@meruspower.com

Venkatesh Ramachandra

Regional Sales Manager,
Middle East

+971 50 55 38 465 venkatesh.ramachandra@meruspower.com
Back to top

Contact us!